Tightrope: Americans Reaching for Hope

Tightrope: Americans Reaching for HopeThe Pulitzer Prize winning authors of the acclaimed, best selling Half the Sky now issue a plea deeply personal and told through the lives of real Americans to address the crisis in working class America, while focusing on solutions to mend a half century of governmental failure With stark

From the Desk of Zoe Washington

From the Desk of Zoe WashingtonZoe Washington isn t sure what to write What does a girl say to the father she s never met, hadn t heard from until his letter arrived on her twelfth birthday, and who s been in prison for a terrible crime A crime he says he never committed Could Marcus really be innocent Zoe is determined to

Clean Getaway

Clean GetawayFrom New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes a middle grade road trip story through American race relations past and present perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Jason Reynolds How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma Grab a Suitcase Prepacked from the big spring

Such a Fun Age

Such a Fun AgeA striking and surprising debut novel from an exhilarating new voice, Such a Fun Age is a page turning and big hearted story about race and privilege, set around a young black babysitter, her well intentioned employer, and a surprising connection that threatens to undo them both Alix Chamberlain is

The Hate U Give

The Hate U GiveA three time winner of Goodreads Choice Awards Sixteen year old Starr Carter moves between two worlds the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood

Between the World and Me

Between the World and MeThis is your country, this is your world, this is your body, and you must find some way to live within the all of it In a profound work that pivots from the biggest questions about American history and ideals to the most intimate concerns of a father for his son, Ta Nehisi Coates offers a powerful

Small Great Things

Small Great ThingsRuth Jefferson is a labor and delivery nurse at a Connecticut hospital with than twenty years experience During her shift, Ruth begins a routine checkup on a newborn, only to be told a few minutes later that she s been reassigned to another patient The parents are white supremacists and

Maid: Hard Work, Low Pay, and a Mother's Will to Survive

Maid: Hard Work, Low Pay, and a Mother's Will to SurviveEvicted meets Nickel and Dimed in Stephanie Land s memoir about working as a maid, a beautiful and gritty exploration of poverty in America Includes a foreword by Barbara Ehrenreich My daughter learned to walk in a homeless shelter While the gap between upper middle class Americans and the

Whisper Network

Whisper NetworkFour women learn their boss a man who s always been surrounded by rumors about how he treats women is next in line to be CEO what will happen when they decide enough is enough Sloane, Ardie, Grace, and Rosalita are four women who have worked at Truviv, Inc., for years The sudden death of

Dear Martin (Dear Martin, #1)

Dear Martin (Dear Martin, #1)Raw, captivating, and undeniably real, Nic Stone joins industry giants Jason Reynolds and Walter Dean Myers as she boldly tackles American race relations in this stunning debut Justyce McAllister is top of his class and set for the Ivy League but none of that matters to the police officer who just