Eat the Buddha: Life and Death in a Tibetan Town

Eat the Buddha: Life and Death in a Tibetan TownJust as she did with North Korea, award winning journalist Barbara Demick explores one of the most hidden corners of the world She tells the story of a Tibetan town perched eleven thousand feet above sea level that is one of the most difficult places in all of China for foreigners to visit Ngaba w

Inheritors

InheritorsSpanning than 150 years, and set in multiple locations in colonial and postcolonial Asia and the United States, Inheritors paints a kaleidoscopic portrait of its characters as they grapple with the legacies of loss, imperialism, and war n nWritten from myriad perspectives and in a wide range of

Must I Go

Must I GoLilia Liska has shrewdly outlived three husbands, raised five children, and seen the arrival of seventeen grandchildren Now she has turned her keen attention to the diary of a long forgotten man named Roland Bouley, with whom she once had a fleeting affair n nIncreasingly obsessed with Roland s inti

Brother's Keeper

Brother's KeeperCan two children escape North Korea on their own n nNorth Korea December, 1950 n nTwelve year old Sora and her family live under an iron set of rules No travel without a permit No criticism of the government No absences from Communist meetings Wear red Hang pictures of the Great Leader Don t tr

A Burning

A BurningFor readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India n nJivan is a M

I'll Be the One

I'll Be the OneThe world of K Pop has never met a star like this Debut author Lyla Lee delivers a deliciously fun, thoughtful rom com celebrating confidence and body positivity perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Julie Murphy n nSkye Shin has heard it all Fat girls shouldn t dance Wear bright colors Shouldn t cal

Last Tang Standing

Last Tang Standingn Crazy Rich Asians meets Bridget Jones s Diary in this funny and irresistible debut novel about the pursuit of happiness, surviving one s thirties intact, and opening oneself up to love.At thirty three, Andrea Tang is living the dream she has a successful career as a lawyer, a posh condo, and a c

The Order of the Pure Moon Reflected in Water

The Order of the Pure Moon Reflected in WaterZen Cho returns with a found family wuxia fantasy that combines the vibrancy of old school martial arts movies with characters drawn from the margins of history n nA bandit walks into a coffeehouse, and it all goes downhill from there Guet Imm, a young votary of the Order of the Pure Moon, joins up

Hunted by the Sky (Hunted by the Sky, #1)

Hunted by the Sky (Hunted by the Sky, #1)Gul has spent her life running She has a star shaped birthmark on her arm, and in the kingdom of Ambar, girls with such birthmarks have been disappearing for years Gul s mark is what caused her parents murder at the hand of King Lohar s ruthless soldiers and forced her into hiding to protect her

My Summer of Love and Misfortune

My Summer of Love and MisfortuneA novel about a Chinese American teen who is thrust into the world of Beijing high society when she is sent away to spend the summer in China n nIris Wang is having a bit of a rough start to her summer In an attempt to snap her out of her funk, Iris s parents send her away to visit family in Beijing

The Henna Artist

The Henna ArtistVivid and compelling in its portrait of one woman s struggle for fulfillment in a society pivoting between the traditional and the modern, The Henna Artist opens a door into a world that is at once lush and fascinating, stark and cruel n nEscaping from an abusive marriage, seventeen year old Lakshmi

Convenience Store Woman

Convenience Store WomanConvenience Store Woman is the heartwarming and surprising story of thirty six year old Tokyo resident Keiko Furukura Keiko has never fit in, neither in her family, nor in school, but when at the age of eighteen she begins working at the Hiiromachi branch of Smile Mart, she finds peace and purpos

A Burning

A BurningFor readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India n nJivan is a M