The Mill Girls of Albion Lane eBook ì Mill Girls of

The Mill Girls of Albion Lane On the cobbled streets of a Yorkshire mill town in 1931 Lily Briggs does all she can to keep trouble at bay for her and her familyShe works hard at Calvert Mill to make ends meet and take care of her parents and younger siblings Saturday nights at the dance hall and dressmaking with her two best friends keep Lily upbeat and now there’s a blossoming romance with childhood friend Harry Bainbridge to put an extra spring in her step tooBut then a run of misfortune threatens Lily’s work home and personal life and she has to rely on the community at the mill to rally together for support With so many others to worry about will Lily always put them first or can she find her own happy ending A heart warming nostalgic tale of triumph over adversity that readers of Katie Flynn Donna Douglas and Call the Midwife will adore



10 thoughts on “The Mill Girls of Albion Lane

  1. says:

    I really love historical sagas this one is set in the 1930’s It is set around the Mill works We follow Lily and her family exploits and the misfortunes that happen There is a real sense of community surrounding themI loved the characters who are all drawn really well You are taken on an emotional journey with them Some characters you really love others p


  2. says:

    I uite like reading sagas now and again and this one did not disappointSet in the 1930's and around the Mill Works Lily Briggs works at Calvert Mill to make ends meet and looks after her younger siblingsLily and her two best friends spend their Saturday night at the dance hall and now she has a bit of a romance with Harry who was her childhood friendJust when t


  3. says:

    I uite enjoyed thisThe romance was light but lovely the story was excellent except in places where it was obvious what was going to happen but overall it sucked me into the story and I felt I was in it which is what I always look for in a historical novel I will definitely keep an eye on this author's future work


  4. says:

    England 1931 The courageous girls of Briggs family and their friends are working their way through thick and thin making me in awe about their inner strength and I am sure they would have been shocked about this opinion They just take the day by day step by step right?No They are gutsy they are hard working and they are sweet I would be so glad to have friends like them


  5. says:

    I do like historical sagas and this one didn't disappoint me It has a lovely storyline uite emotional at timesbut it sucks you in and makes you feel like you're part of it Is a bit slow to get going but well worth a read


  6. says:

    Nice Sunday garden rwadAnother good read from Jenny Holmes scrapping by family fall outs and life's trials and tribulations Hard times in the 30's and we think it's hard now


  7. says:

    A wonderful book of life in the cotton mills of the 1930s


  8. says:

    Mill girlsReally LOVELY story love romance archbishops old fashioned story would recommend this book for good read really enjoyed the story


  9. says:

    Brilliant readInteresting good read good plots and happy ending a good holiday book Nice and easy good story line but it


  10. says:

    he Mill Girls of Albion Lane was a captivating tale of life in the 1930’s and the Mill Industry Fans of Margaret Dickson and Call the Midwife will definitely enjoy this bookSet in the Bradford Mill Industry of the 1930’s we meet Lily the eldest daughter of the Briggs family Lily has worked in the Mill since she was 14 and is the middle daughter of a mother who tries her best and a drunken father


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *