Mama Hissa's Mice by Saud Alsanousi

Mama Hissa's Mice by Saud AlsanousiFrom the author of The Bamboo Stalk and winner of the International Prize for Arabic Fiction comes an apocalyptic and caustically funny novel about the power of friendship in a war-torn world.

Growing up together in the Surra section of central Kuwait, Katkout, Fahd, and Sadiq share neither ethnic origin nor religious denomination—only friendship and a rage against the unconscionable sectarian divide turning their lives into war-zone rubble. To lay bare the ugly truths, they form the protest group Fuada’s Kids. Their righteous transgressions have made them targets of both Sunni and Shi’a extremists. They’ve also elicited the concern of Fahd’s grandmother, Mama Hissa, a story-spinning font of piety, wisdom, superstition, and dire warnings, who cautions them that should they anger God, the sky will surely fall.

Then one day, after an attack on his neighborhood leaves him injured, Katkout regains consciousness. His friends are nowhere to be found. Inundated with memories of his past, Katkout begins a search for them in a world that has become unrecognizable but not forsaken.

Snaking through decades of Kuwaiti history well into a cataclysmic twenty-first century, Mama Hissa’s Mice is a harrowing, emotional, and caustic novel of rebellion. It also speaks to the universal struggle of finding one’s identity and a reason to go on, even after the sky has fallen.

7

Categories: architecture

Bad Memory by Lisa Gray

Bad Memory by Lisa      GrayQuiet towns keep big secrets.

Private investigator Jessica Shaw is leading a quiet life in a Californian desert community, where she spends her days working low-level cases. But when a former resident asks Jessica to help her sister, Rue Hunter—a convicted murderer whose execution is days away—Jessica can’t resist the offer.

Rue doesn't remember what happened the night two high school students were killed thirty years ago, but everybody in town is certain she’s guilty. As Jessica looks for answers, she finds that local rumors point one way and evidence points another. And nobody wants to face the truth. Meanwhile, Jessica can’t shake the feeling that someone is stalking her—now more than ever, she knows she can’t trust anyone.

As Jessica digs deeper, she encounters local secrets in unlikely places—including the police department itself. But the clock is ticking, and Jessica must find the truth fast—or Rue’s bad memory may be the death of them both.

0

Categories: transvestism

The Rancher's Redemption by Kate Pearce

The Rancher's Redemption by Kate PearceEnter for your chance to win a copy of THE RANCHER'S REDEMPTION by Kate Pearce!

Family, community, hard work. It’s what always draws the folks of Morgantown back to the ranch—along with the promise of so much more . . .

Widowed for ten years, now running the family ranch, Adam Miller is no longer the fun-loving guy who married his high school sweetheart the moment they graduated. His bitterness in the aftermath of her death even alienated his closest link to her—Lizzie Taylor, her best friend. But when Adam comes across Lizzie in a dire situation, he’s compelled to help—and finds himself with an unusual opportunity to make amends . . .

A struggling single mom, Lizzie’s extremely wealthy ex ran out on her when she got pregnant. But now he and his family have decided to fight for custody of her young son. When Adam shocks her by offering to pose as her partner, awkward as it may feel, it’s Lizzie’s best chance to hold onto her child. And as they strive to present a united front, their old friendship rekindles, sparking an unexpected attraction—along with past hurts and secrets. Soon they realize they’ll have to find a way to forgive if they want to move forward—especially with each other . . .

4

Categories: mills-and-boon

Other Lives by Jenn Dashney

Other Lives by Jenn DashneyEnter for a chance to win one of 11 signed, first edition copies of Other Lives by award winning songwriter, Jenn Dashney!

You won't be able to put it down once you pick up this YA, magical realism, suspenseful adventure - oh, and did we mention the epic love story woven in? Nova & Evan #forever!

1

Categories: buses

Last Couple Standing by Matthew Norman

Last Couple Standing by Matthew NormanEnter for a chance to win a copy of LAST COUPLE STANDING from Matthew Norman!

For fans of CRAZY, STUPID LOVE, comes a hilarious and heartfelt novel about a couple so determined not to end up like their divorced friends that they try an open marriage--and get in way over their heads.

What follows is sexy, fun, painful, messy, and completely surprising to them both. Because sometimes doing something bad is the only way to get to the heart of what's really good.

8

Categories: young-adult

The Christian Diaries by Caleb Adams

The Christian Diaries by Caleb Adams"All Man, All Rock, All Tree. Everything Hates Them. In our sewers there are still some Christians and Jews left. Seek out and kill them all." - Anonymous, Year 2031


It is nearing the end of the 3rd year of the caliphate invasion. Our cities, as with the rest of the world's cities, remain in their control. And thus being so, we are still hunted and still hidden beneath the streets we once called our own. We have not lost faith, though. We will continue the struggle to reclaim our towns and the right to pray to our own God, even more so after the collapse of Sector 4. For it is their testaments that I have compiled herein. To those who read them, I say this: Believe none, believe some, or believe all. But this was Sector 4, in both its rise and its fall.

- Major Caleb Adams, US Army, Sector 3, City of Ayla.

5

Categories: chess

Prelude to Extinction by Andreas Karpf

Prelude to Extinction by Andreas KarpfEnter to win a copy of PRELUDE TO EXTINCTION: A novel that has been called “True science fiction…storytelling at the crossroads of original fiction and technical knowledge, expanded by imagination.”

When Jack Harrison climbed down the short ladder from the airlock and stepped onto the debris covered soil, the ground crackled with the sound of dried leaves and twigs. Warm sunlight shined through his helmet, making him almost forget the decade he just spent captaining Earth’s first ship to another star system. The serene tropical surroundings, though, stood in stark contrast to the long abandoned structures that lay nearby.

Evidence points to a massacre – the systematic extermination of an alien colony hundreds of millennia ahead of humanity. Time, however, has erased any trace of the attackers. Jack and his crew barely start probing the ruins before their curiosity betrays them as an abandoned alien device cuts them off from their main ship. Lost and short on supplies, survival soon becomes their only goal. Even their short-lived rescue by an alien race, who themselves are under siege, offers little hope. As they struggle to find a way home, signs begin pointing to a danger darker than any they could have foreseen. Jack knows that playing it safe may no longer be an option – but his only other choice is to confront a threat that they don’t even begin to understand.

5

Categories: transport

I'm Rising by Michelle G. Stradford

I'm Rising by Michelle G. StradfordPoetry Lovers enter for a chance to win an ebook copy of No. 1 New Release in Inspirational Poetry, I'M RISING: Determined. Confident. Powerful by Michelle G Stradford. A total of 20 copies are available.

Take back your Power, your Glorious and Rise!“

I'm Rising: Determined. Confident. Powerful.” takes the reader on an emotive journey of empowerment through life’s countless triumphs and tribulations. Above all else, it inspires one to tap into their infinite potential so they can overcome any obstacle that appears on their unique path.

Through heartfelt storytelling, alliterative diction, and soul-awakening themes, this empathic poetess instills each reader with an unwavering sense of perseverance, courage, and compassion.

This uplifting book is more than a mere collection of poetic musings, it serves as a powerful tool of self-love and personal transformation that belongs on every fierce soul’s bookshelf—or better yet, on their nightstand for their daily dose of inspiration each time they rise.

2

Categories: ukraine

Martin McLean, Middle School Queen by Alyssa Zaczek

Martin McLean, Middle School Queen by Alyssa ZaczekEnter for a chance to win one of 15 advance reader copies of the fantastic debut middle-grade novel by Alyssa Zaczek MARTIN MCLEAN MIDDLE SCHOOL QUEEN.

"An amusing story that's bursting with diversity at every turn. . . . A tasty treat." - Kirkus Reviews (Starred Review)

9

Categories: zimbabwe

Nerves of Steel by Tammie Jo Shults

Nerves of Steel by Tammie Jo Shults20 minutes into a routine domestic flight, Captain Tammie Jo Shults had to face the unthinkable...

Enter for your chance to win 1 of 15 final copies of "Nerves of Steel" by Tammie Jo Shults - where she shares her incredible story—from being one of the Navy’s first female fighter pilots, to safely landing the severely-crippled Flight 1380 and helping save the lives of 148 people. Through her riveting journey, discover how to push through closed doors and find purpose in the hard times.

2

Categories: plants

Leader Board by Omar L. Harris

Leader Board by Omar L. HarrisEnter to win a FREE Kindle copy of the book the USDaily Review says, "will help any leader, manager, recruiter, people manager, or HR pro to revitalize their approach to leading and hiring."

3

Categories: cartoon

The Poison Garden by A.J. Banner

The Poison Garden by A.J. BannerA woman’s idyllic life becomes a deceptive hall of mirrors in a thriller of exquisitely constructed psychological suspense by A. J. Banner, bestselling author of The Good Neighbor.

Elise Watters seems to have it all—a blissful marriage, a gorgeous Victorian home surrounded by lush gardens, and a dream job running her late mother’s herbal boutique.

But on the eve of her first wedding anniversary, Elise makes a shocking discovery that turns her life upside down and casts doubt on everything she thought she knew—about her marriage, her friends, and even herself. As she treads into dangerous territory, Elise is forced to wonder: Is her whole future at stake? Or is paranoia getting the best of her?

If she is to believe what she sees, Elise has every reason to fear for her life…

10

Categories: aircraft

The Twin Towers by Richard Todd

The Twin Towers by Richard   ToddEnter to win one of 100 Kindle editions of the time travel thriller, “Time Tunnel: The Twin Towers” by Richard Todd.

"Todd grippingly conjures a what-if time-travel scenario that’s unusually believable.” — Kirkus

"★★★★★ Time Tunnel: The Twin Towers is a wonderful piece of work with great actions scenes and a fantastic storyline that would be enjoyed by a wide audience."— Manhattan Book Review

"★★★★★ The integration of the time travel storyline with the real events that happened on that day are seamless. If I didn’t know better, I would think this could have really happened."— Manhattan Book Review

"★★★★★ (4.5) The Twin Towers is a compelling, fascinating read that ends with the reader anxious for the sequel.” — San Francisco Book Review

“★★★★★ (4.5)...the reader is kept hooked to the very end where there’s a great cliffhanger." — San Francisco Book Review

"★★★★★ Richard Todd does a great job of hooking the reader and making them commiserate with the characters who are very well developed and multidimensional. If you like time travel, then Richard Todd's Time Tunnel series is definitely the book for you." — Seattle Book Review

The first book in the Time Tunnel series, “Time Tunnel: The Twin Towers,” re-imagines 9/11 as a critical inflection point in time, the outcome of which the government determines must be altered in order to reverse the course of the American empire.

2

Categories: railways